Pınar Selek
Written Declaration given by Parliamentary Assembly Members of Council of Europe

Doc. 12506

27 January 2011

Defend the freedom of expression – the case of imprisoned authors in Turkey

Written Declaration No 468

This written declaration commits only the members who have signed it

Taking into account that:

-       the freedom of expression is guaranteed in article 10 of the European Convention on Human Rights;

-       the freedom of expression has to be defended in many member states of the Council of Europe;

-       at least 44 authors and journalists are currently imprisoned in Turkey, six are charged or convicted solely for their works and the others are held under the pretext of a criminal offence;

-       the author Doğan Akhanlı was finally released from the pretrial detention of almost four months based on obviously baseless and fabricated allegations;

-       the author Nevin Berktaş was sentenced to ten months imprisonment because of her meanwhile forbidden book “Prison Cells” in which she describes her 21 years in prison;

-       the author Pınar Selek faces a new trial in Turkey after the Court of Cassation has reversed two acquittals.

We, the undersigned, hereby declare our support for the imprisoned authors and journalists in Turkey. We ask the Human Rights Commissioner, the Committee of Ministers and the member states to investigate the imprisonment of authors and journalists in Turkey, to monitor the development of the freedom of expression and to support the independence of its judiciary.

Signed (see overleaf)

Signed: 1

HUNKO Andrej, Germany, UEL

ANDERSEN Karin, Norway, UEL

BECK Marieluise, Germany, ALDE

BRASSEUR Anne, Luxembourg, ALDE

von CRAMON-TAUBADEL Viola, Germany, SOC

ELZINGA Tuur, Netherlands, UEL

FRAHM Pernille, Denmark, UEL

GROSS Andreas, Switzerland, SOC

GROTH Annette, Germany, UEL

HURSKAINEN Sinikka, Finland, SOC

HUSS Jean, Luxembourg, SOC


KANELLI Liana, Greece, UEL

KONEČNÁ Kateřina, Czech Republic, UEL

KOX Tiny, Netherlands, UEL

LOTMAN Aleksei, Estonia, UEL

MAURY PASQUIER Liliane, Switzerland, SOC


NORD Thomas, Germany, UEL

PAPADIMOULIS Dimitrios, Greece, UEL

PETRENCO Grigore, Moldova, UEL

de POURBAIX-LUNDIN Marietta, Sweden, EPP/CD


Pınar Selek
Pınar Selek
Pınar Selek
Pınar Selek
Pınar Selek
Pınar Selek
Pınar Selek
Pınar Selek
Pınar Selek
Pınar Selek
Pınar Selek
Mahkeme Süreci Court Process